Items can be permanently destroyed. To do so, simply click on the item in your Inventory and drag it outside of your bags, and then drop it. You will then be asked if you really want to destroy the item. Clicking yes finishes the destruction process. Some particularly unique items will require an extra measure of confirming that you want to delete them, usually because they are one-of-a-kind.
Once destroyed, an item cannot be retrieved.