Forum Settings
Reply To Thread

Patching ErrorFollow

#1 May 30 2009 at 4:02 AM Rating: Decent
63 posts
Last night i finally decided to start the 10 day free trial of WAR.
After waiting what seemed like ages, the patcher hit 99% and i got a message saying there was an error and the patch could not be completeed, please try asgain later. I tried a few more times and still got the same message. I gave up and went to bed. I was hoping to check warhammeronline .com for FAQ that might answer my question, but our lovely IT guys here at work have blocked that site. If anyone has any suggestions or knows what the problems is please let me know. Im severly bored and dont want to log into my WoW account and deal with their broken PvP system.
Thanks in advance.
#2 May 30 2009 at 10:32 AM Rating: Decent
316 posts
I had the exact same problem. The WH message board seems to refer all questions re: this to a post from March (

Hi all,

We're currently investigating any and all issues with players being unable to login or complete patching. We realize these problems can be frustrating and apologize firstly for the inconvenience they may cause.

While there is currently no single solution many have found that using the Full File Check resolves the issue (select the Check Box beneath the Username and Password fields when logging into the patcher) in addition the issue resolves itself after a period of waiting (normally no more than an hour)

If you're attempting to download the entire client and receiving this error when doing so you may use the alternative one hosted by File Planet, this download is quite large (11GB) and we recommend the use of a Download Manager, Fileplanet has one if you don't already have a favorite:

This will help to ensure a complete, successful download.

If you are receiving an Authentication Error when attempting to login into the patcher itself please ensure you are using the proper username and password. Remember that you need to login using your Play (Game) Account and this information may be different than your Master Account (what you use to login to the Account Center) Visit and reset the password for your Product Account, you can also see the Product Account name at this time and sure you are using the correct one. Attempt logging into the Patcher again once you're confident you changed the password. We realize many are returning from an extended absence and passwords may not always be what you remembered!

If the above do not work and your problem remains unresolved know that we're working to correct this issue as soon as possible. The details and feedback many of you have provided are helpful and we encourage you to do so. Please use this thread to provide us with any additional information as we work to get you back online.

Hope that helps. I'm going to try it, will let you know if it works for me.
#3 May 30 2009 at 11:17 AM Rating: Decent
63 posts
Thanks for the info and link. I will try this as soon as this **** time clock ticks 3:30pm. I cant wait to create a toon and start smashing my enemies into oblivion.
#4 May 30 2009 at 12:10 PM Rating: Decent
63 posts
Just got home and tried that, but still got the same error message. Guess this 10 day trial is gonna be more of an 8 day trial if i can get the game loaded,
#5 May 30 2009 at 3:57 PM Rating: Decent
316 posts
I'm concerned that it might not work for me either, as this supposed 11GB download from FilePlanet is only showing up as 5.85GB in my download manager. It's only 42% done though (2.46GB) so we'll see I guess.

Anyone else have any advice for us?
#6 May 31 2009 at 4:34 AM Rating: Decent
63 posts
I shot Customer Support an email last night about the problems and this was their responce:
Recently you requested personal assistance from our on-line support center. Below is a summary of your request and our response.

If this issue is not resolved to your satisfaction, you may reopen it within the next 7 days.

Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.


To access your question from our support site, click here.

I created a free trial account. Did the download. Installed the files. Ran wa...

Discussion Thread
Response (EARep Andre)
05/30/2009 02:24 PM
Hello there,

Thank you for contacting EA Games Support,

There are many circumstances that can cause this error to appear. This can happen if you do not have a valid Warhammer Online subscription, your password is incorrect, the patcher can not update the game, or possibly your settings or ports are not configured correctly.

You can check to see if you have a valid Warhammer Online subscription by going to the Account Management page at Once you have verified your account details by logging in, there should be a status section that will tell you if your account is active or not. If your account is active, it will say 'Active' in green letters under this section. If your account is inactive, then you will see 'Inactive' in red. You will need to re-activate your account if this is the case in order to log on to Warhammer Online.

If you were not able to log in to the Account Management page, then you may have a problem with your password. You can use the Request Password page to recover your password and try again.

If your account is active, then check the following to see if one of these steps helps with your issue.

Make sure you are running warpatch.exe and not war.exe directly. Make sure you're using the right client (i.e., American client uses fileplanet download, and EU client uses goa's download). If you have the retail version, you may also want to uninstall the beta client and reinstall your retail version.

Also, make sure you have add the WAR client to any firewall software you are running. This is how you can add an exception for the WAR client:

1. Click on the Start button and then select Control Panel.
2. Depending on which desktop style you have chosen to use, follow the appropriate directions:

* Windows XP default desktop: Click on Security Centre and then on Windows Firewall.
* Windows Classic desktop: Click on Windows Firewall.

* Be sure that the radio button is set to On (recommended) and that there is no check in the box that says Don't allow exceptions before continuing.
* Click on the Exceptions tab and then select the Add Programs button.
* Click on the Browse button and add the file warhammer.exe. Then click the Open button to add the file to the list.
* Click OK.
* Click the Add Program button again. Click OK twice.

Repeat this procedure for warpatch.exe and warpatch.bin.

Additionally you may need to configure your router settings to open the following ports:

* UDP port 1024-65535
* TCP port 8040-8049
* TCP port 10622

This process can be done in your Router Configuration Settings. You can find out how to do this by checking the router manual or looking it up online at your router manufacture's website.

Regarding Norton Security Suite or any other firewall software (comodo, zonealarm, etc.), try disabling Autoprotect. You may need to go into Settings and disable the firewall (don't worry -- you won't leave it off), just exiting the program won't work. If it works after doing that then you need to add war.exe and warpatch.exe to your exclusions list or open the ports manually.

Should you require further assistance about this or any Electronic Arts games in the future please visit our website and review our extensive Self Help knowledgebase (

Thank you,

EA Rep Andre
EA Online Support

Im going to check my firewall and router when I get home from work. Hopefully this will resolve the problem. Hope it helps you too. If it does what server race and career will you be looking into?
#7 May 31 2009 at 7:08 AM Rating: Decent
316 posts
I wish I knew what was going on. My account is active - it has been since 5/27. I tried to download the client from FilePlanet like the link said, but the file size is not 11GB. Plus, there's no warhammer.exe file included in the download, so I can't even add that to my firewall exceptions.

In fact, the only executables in the download were warpatch.exe and setup.exe. Both of those pop open a DOS window for a second, then immediately close again and nothing happens.

I'd really like to try this game, but I'm at a loss as to what else I could do.

Edit - I toggled 'Close on Exit' in both executables, and when I try to launch them, the error "Program too big to fit in memory" shows up in the DOS window. I have 2GB memory and no idea what causes this error.

Edited, May 31st 2009 11:14am by SEforPrez
#8 May 31 2009 at 7:20 AM Rating: Decent
63 posts
I downloaded the files from fileplanet last night also. The only exe file i found in it was autorun, which did absolutely nothing. I dont get the dos window when running the warpatcher. I get the log in box, then the patcher pops up and checks the files. It then zips through the files i was able to download and gets to 99% and the error screen pops up. Im running windows vista. Im wondering if maybe my outdated version of nortons is causing some problems. It has prevented me from installing other games in the past. Ill try to uninstall that later and see if that helps, if what customer support suggested doesnt work. I too really want to give this game a shot, but at this rate if i get it running i will only have about an hour left on my trial left.
#9 Jun 02 2009 at 4:45 AM Rating: Decent
316 posts
Any luck? None here. I've tried every possible fix that I've seen suggested, from the Fileplanet download, to activating full scan, to rebooting before installation - nothing works. To add even more insult, I can't seem to post on the warhammeronline forums to ask about it since I don't yet have an active character created to link. Multiple people have apparently posted about this same problem in the past three days, so the problem clearly isn't unique to the two of us.

For a (relatively) new game trying to grow a player base, this is an astoundingly user-unfriendly first impression. I wonder how many people try the installation, fail, and just walk away without trying to find a solution. Or who aren't allakhazam visitors and who are unable to ask on the official forums due to the account restrictions.

I'm willing to try any and all suggestions, as I'd really like to give WAR a try. Does anyone else out there have any ideas?
#10 Jun 02 2009 at 6:28 PM Rating: Default
63 posts
I started to post an update last night, but got interupted by an email from customer support. I still havent had any luck, and they seem confused. One reply from them was that the problem wasnt as easy as they thought and that they needed some time to figure out what the problem was.

Since then they had me do some stuff in ipconfig that didnt work as they said it should, prompting the above responce. They then had me download the OUTrace preogram and send them 2 files containing 100 traces that this program did. They also asked me some questions about my router, ISP, and if the game ever ran fine before. Its been about 24 hours since i replied, still no answer. So I sent the reply again. Maybe by morning they will have at least read it.

I think Im down to about 6 days left on my trial. I was really hoping to have 2 different toons to lvl 11 by now and have been able to choose which I would stick with after the trial period. With any luck customer support can figure this out and reset my trial time. I would just go buy it, but Im buying for myself and my wife. We did that one time before and let me tell you LineageII sucked. $80 for the games and 2 days wasted installing and playing that dreadful waste of technology. Im pretty sure I will enjoy the game as I did DAoC, but I want to be reassured with the trial time.

If anything they suggest works I will pass it on. if you want to try the ipconfig stuff let me know and Ill post the directions here.
#11 Jun 05 2009 at 4:47 AM Rating: Decent
316 posts
Grimdi wrote:
If anything they suggest works I will pass it on. if you want to try the ipconfig stuff let me know and Ill post the directions here.

I finally got the thing to work. Apparently if you use FilePlanet's download manager, the file is corrupted during download, and instead of a zipped file, you get a handful of folders, like we were seeing. It still looks to be correct because there's a setup.exe file, but it doesn't work.

What you need to do is delete the FilePlanet download manager, and download it manually. In my case, that meant waiting in the queue and right-clicking the download link when it finally appeared. This will download a zipped file, and from there, everything's straightforward. The patcher only needs to grab ~30MB.

Long story short, I'm in. Karbik the Greenskin Shaman on Monolith server. The bad news is today is day 9 of my 10-day trial, and I don't have a lot of free time today or tomorrow. Hopefully Mythic will extend my trial due to this, but if not, there's no way I shell out $40 based on my experience so far.

Let me know if this works for you.

#12 Jun 06 2009 at 10:08 PM Rating: Default
63 posts
Ive been trying to download the file manually all day, but everytime its my turn in the queue I get a message saying theres no room in the queue. Ill keep trying and if it doesnt work then I guess ill just say the **** with it and go back to WoW. Their customer support refuses to acknowledge that their files are corrupted and that the problems isnt my comp. Ive tried all of thier suggestions on all 3 of my PCs and my laptop and I get the same error on all of them. I thought well maybe its my connection, so i took my laptop to my parents and tried it there and the same thing happened. Oh well this game looked fun, but i will just have to pass on it. Thanks for your help. I hope they give you a longer trial period for your troubles.

Edited, Jun 7th 2009 11:11pm by Grimdi
Reply To Thread

Colors Smileys Quote OriginalQuote Checked Help


Recent Visitors: 1 All times are in CDT
Anonymous Guests (1)